Microscopy Today Innovation Awards


Each year Microscopy Today presents ten awards to organizations or individuals who have launched or published innovations in microscopy or microanalysis. Winning products and methods are selected based on their usefulness to the microscopy community. The entries most likely to win are those that provide better, faster, easier, or entirely new methods of analysis using a microscope or microanalytical instrument.


Entries will be accepted only for the following: (a) new commercial microscopy-related products that were first marketed in the previous calendar year or (b) new microscopy methods and inventions that were first published in peer-reviewed journals in the previous calendar year. While multiple entries from the same organization are allowed, a single company or individual cannot receive more than one award in a given year. Officers and editors of the Microscopy Society of America and their subcontractors are not eligible.


Entries may come from colleagues or as self-nominations. There are only four questions on the entry form. There is no charge to enter this competition.

Entry Forms

Download an entry form here or contact Charles Lyman at charles.lyman@lehigh.edu.


The annual deadline for completed forms is March 21 or the following Monday if this day falls on a weekend.

Previous Winners

Descriptions of winning products and methods are published in the September issue of Microscopy TodayView the magazine and previous issue here.

2023 Winners

Arctic University of Norway
for the SOLIS - scanned oblique light-sheet instant-volume sectioning

Dectris Ltd.
for the ARINA 4DSTEM detector

Gatan, Inc.
for the Metro Counting Camera

NanoElectronic Imaging
for the Low Noise, Two-Channel STEM EBIC System

Protochips, Inc.
for AXON Dose™ 

Sigray Inc.
for the Grazing angle microXRF (Sigray Attomap microXRF) with Energy Tunability

Spectrolight Inc.
for the Tunable Laser System (TLS)

Thermo Fisher Scientific
for the Arctis Cryo-Plasma Focused Ion Beam (Cryo-PFIB)

turboTEM Ltd. and Trinity College Dublin
for the 'Pulse' signal digitizer

for the Voxa Blade™ conveyer belt automated TEM