CEMT Certification Program

CEMT Certification Program

The Microscopy Society of America (MSA), the world's largest professional association of microscopists, provides the only certification of technologists in biological transmission electron microscopy available in the Americas. The program was instituted in 1978 to establish standards for technical skills. In addition to assuring employers that certified technologists are technically proficient, certification can be important in determining job classification, salary level, and potential for advancement or promotion. Many consider certification to be a key benchmark in their professional development.

The program is administered by the Certification Board, which is appointed by the Council of the Society. The Board develops regulations, formulates and evaluates examinations, and interprets policies.

The Certification Board has established the use of the approved acronym "CEMT" to represent Certified Electron Microscopy Technologist to be awarded to all who have been successfully certified by the MSA Certification Committee. Certified Electron Microscopy Technologists can use these initials after his or her name to more firmly provide a professional identification of Certification for as long as the Certification remains valid (eg. "John Smith, AA, BS, CEMT").

Individuals with the requisite educational and/or occupational qualifications can attain certification by completing an application and passing both written and practical examinations. Successful candidates are awarded an official numbered MSA Certificate and a Certification Pin. Two examination cycles are offered each year.

CEMT Exam Cycles for 2024
Application Deadline
Written Exam Given
Practical Exam Deadline

Cycle 91
Application deadline: January 30
Written Exam date: March 5
Practical Exam deadline: May 14

Cycle 92
Application deadline: August 13
Written Exam date: September 17
Practical Exam deadline: November 26

Important Documents

Brochure & Complete Regulations (Word Doc)
Brochure & Complete Regulations (PDF)
Application Form

The initial period of certification is the year in which certification is completed and the following calendar year.


Certification is valid for ten (10) years, and may be renewed every ten (10) years by payment of the appropriate fee ($75 for MSA members, $150 for non-members). Certified Technologists whose certification has lapsed may have it reinstated by paying the appropriate renewal fee and providing documentation of certification. The renewal fee will be the amount, in five year increments, to bring certification current from the last certification/renewal. This is a change from previous policy, which had required reexamination after a two year lapse.

For renewals, please fill out the renewal form or contact the Association Management.

Certified Microscopists

The Certification Board administers the written and practical examinations to certify biological transmission electron microscopy technologists through the CEMT Certification Program. Examinations are administered to qualified candidates twice a year. Please contact the chairman for further information.

Certified Microscopists

Rudy Alvarado
University of Florida
2033 Mowry Road
CGRC 185
Gainesville, FL 32610
Office: (352) 846-0251

Vania Almeida
University of Miami

Angela Blissett
The Ohio State University

Edward P. Calomeni
The Ohio State University

Leona Cohen-Gould
Weill Medical College of Cornell University

Nick Conoan
University of Nebraska Medical Center

Karen Kelley
University of Florida

Frank Macaluso
Albert Einstein College of Medicine

Sara Pawlak
Yale School of Medicine

Tracey Stewart
Iowa State University

Alyssa Waldron
Bergen County Academies