For Immediate Release

Microscopy Society of America Announces the Class of 2018 Fellows

Eight to be inducted at Microscopy & Microanalysis 2018 meeting in Baltimore, Maryland.

RESTON, Virginia – April 5, 2018 – The Microscopy Society of America (MSA) will induct eight members of the Society as the Class of 2018 Fellows. The honor will be conferred on August 6 in Baltimore at the Microscopy& Microanalysis 2018 (M&M 2018) meeting. The MSA Fellow designation annually recognizes senior distinguished members of the Society who have made significant contributions to the advancement of the field of microscopy and microanalysis through a combination of scientific achievement and service to the scientific community.

Members of the MSA Class of 2018 Fellows are:

- Wen-An Chiou, *University of Maryland-* "For pioneering the "WETEM" method of in situ microscopy that has contributed to the rapid growth of liquid cell techniques in electron microscopy, and for his several decades as an educator and mentor to thousands of students in the field."
- Linn W. Hobbs, *Massachusetts Institute of Technology-* "For pioneering work on TEM of beamsensitive materials, microscopy of glass and amorphous materials, and combining these studies for understanding the role of glass in the immobilization of high-level waste."
- Elaine C. Humphrey, *University of Victoria-* "through her skills in facility management, instruction, and creative outreach, she has advocated for science in education by making microscopy accessible to researchers and the public."
- Kazuo Ishizuka, *HREM Research Inc.-* "Kazuo Ishizuka is the founder and scientific director of HREM Research Inc. who provides various software tools for electron microscopy including image simulation, sophisticated data acquisition and image/spectrum processing."
- David J. Larson, *Cameca Instruments Inc.* "For his pioneering contributions to the development of atom probe science and technology, especially its application to complex materials systems, and for his many contributions to the Society."
- Guillermo Solórzano-Naranjo, *Catholic University of Rio de Janeiro-* "For his excellence in applying microscopy to solve materials problems and for his service to MSA and the microscopy community worldwide as an ambassador for international cooperation through microscopy."
- Judith C. Yang, *University of Pittsburgh-* "For world leading research in gas-surface reactions, especially oxidation, and catalytic reactions using innovative in situ electron microscopy techniques."

• Jian Min Zuo, *University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign* – "an expert in electron diffraction who has made essential contributions to theory of electron dynamic diffraction, especially theory and techniques of electron nanodiffraction for nanostructure analysis."

The Microscopy Society of America was founded as the Electron Microscope Society of America in 1942, a time of rapid development for an instrument that promised, for the first time, better resolving power than that of the traditional light microscope. The Society adopted its current name on the occasion of its 50th anniversary, to reflect the diversity of microscopy techniques represented by its membership. Today, a variety of microscopes are capable of imaging individual atoms, and providing chemical information to identify what kind of atom is being imaged, while a variety of microscopes of lower resolving power continue to play an enabling role in understanding the world around us at a microscopic scale. The Microscopy Society of America champions all forms of microscopy and the development of new imaging technologies through its annual meeting, its publications, and its educational outreach.

Microscopy & Microanalysis (M&M) is the annual meeting of the MSA and the Microanalysis Society (MAS). M&M 2018, to be held August 5-9 in Baltimore, Maryland, USA, will be cosponsored with the Microscopical Society of Canada. The Microscopy Society of America is an affiliate society of the American Institute of Physics (AIP) and the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

For promotional purposes, photographs of individual Fellows and their citations can be found on the MSA web site: <u>http://www.microscopy.org/awards/listoffellows.cfm</u>

For more information, please contact: Bethany Blackwell, Marketing and Communications Manager Microscopy Society of America 11130 Sunrise Valley Drive, Suite 350 Reston, VA 20191 Office: +1 703 234 4115 Fax: +1 703 435 4390 E-mail: associationmanagement@microscopy.org