Microscopy Society of America Announces the Class of 2019 Fellows

Eight to be inducted at Microscopy & Microanalysis 2019 meeting in Portland, Oregon.

RESTON, Virginia – March 21, 2019 – The Microscopy Society of America (MSA) will induct eight members of the Society as the Class of 2019 Fellows. The honor will be conferred on August 5 in Portland, Oregon at the Microscopy & Microanalysis 2019 (M&M 2019) meeting. The MSA Fellow designation annually recognizes senior distinguished members of the Society who have made significant contributions to the advancement of the field of microscopy and microanalysis through a combination of scientific achievement and service to the scientific community.

Members of the MSA Class of 2019 Fellows are:

- Wilbur C. Bigelow, Emeritus Professor of Materials Science and Engineering at the University of Michigan- "Wilbur Bigelow is a widely respected electron microscopist who has mentored, performed research and published in the area for over six decades. He is unequaled in the field."
- **Edward D. Boyes**, *University of York* "For outstanding achievements in the development of the aberration-corrected environmental TEM and applications of atomic resolution ETEM to understanding materials behaviour."
- **Pratibha L. Gai**, *University of York* "For pioneering contributions to the science of catalysis through the application of atomic level in-situ studies in the environmental TEM."
- Ronald Gronsky, University of CA, Berkeley- "For pioneering contributions to the development and advancement of high-resolution TEM, and for his long-standing service to the Society and unremitting efforts in educating generations of electron microscopists."

- Maximilian Haider, CEOS GmbH- "For his contributions to making aberration correction a reality for electron microscopes, and thereby revolutionizing the understanding of nanomaterials, in particular."
- Michael Marko, Wadsworth Center- "For his pioneering contributions in the field of phase-plates imaging for cryo-TEM, cryo-FIB in biology, and for his dedicated long-term service to the Microscopy Society of America."
- David W. McComb, The Ohio State University- "For development of electron energy-loss spectrometry and its application to inorganic, organic and molecular systems, as well as the development and implementation of remote microscopy for teaching and learning."
- **Karren L. More**, *Oak Ridge National Laboratory-* "For her innovative studies of materials for polymer electrolyte membrane fuel cells through the use of advanced analytical microscopy methods."

The Microscopy Society of America was founded as the Electron Microscope Society of America in 1942, a time of rapid development for an instrument that promised, for the first time, better resolving power than that of the traditional light microscope. The Society adopted its current name on the occasion of its 50th anniversary, to reflect the diversity of microscopy techniques represented by its membership. Today, a variety of microscopes are capable of imaging individual atoms, and providing chemical information to identify what kind of atom is being imaged, while a variety of microscopes of lower resolving power continue to play an enabling role in understanding the world around us at a microscopic scale. The Microscopy Society of America champions all forms of microscopy and the development of new imaging technologies through its annual meeting, its publications, and its educational outreach.

Microscopy & Microanalysis (M&M) is the annual meeting of the Microscopy Society of America and the Microanalysis Society (MAS). M&M 2019, to be held August 4-9 in Portland Oregon, USA, will be cosponsored with the International Field Emission Society (IFES).

The Microscopy Society of America is an affiliate society of the American Institute of Physics (AIP) and the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

For promotional purposes, photographs of individual Fellows and their citations can be found on the MSA web site:

http://www.microscopy.org/awards/listoffellows.cfm

###

For more information, please contact:

Courtney Eiland, Marketing Communications Coordinator Microscopy Society of America 11130 Sunrise Valley Drive, Suite 350 Reston, VA 20191

E-mail: associationmanagement@microscopy.org